FR EN
FR EN

Esther Charron

ABOUT

With a bachelor’s in music in piano performance from Université Laval and a master’s in performing-arts administration from New York University, Esther invests herself in her work at a rhythm that matches her passion for cultural endeavours. Perceptive and attentive, she is dedicated to accompanying artists in their work in concrete, helpful ways through customized services to meet their needs. Curious by nature, she finds inspiration in art, travel and the outdoors. Over the years, she has developed an extensive international network. She loves to bring people together and takes great satisfaction in initiating artistic and intellectual encounters between people.

She facilitates strategic-planning reflection processes and exercises, helping guide companies and individual artists in reaching their audience-development goals. She also programs and leads professional workshops, panel discussions and meetings of all kinds.

Her experience in international tours and her desire to pass the torch to a new generation led her, in collaboration with CINARS (International Exchange for the Performing Arts), to develop a training seminar on the issues around and strategies for internationally touring the performing arts. The training has already been offered in Quebec City, Montreal, Switzerland, Japan and Mexico.

Her institutional clients include the City of Quebec, the Quebec minister of culture and communications, the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ), Canada Council for the Arts, International Network for Contemporary Performing Arts (IETM), Place des Arts, and International Exchange for the Performing Arts (CINARS).

She was Executive Director for Les Violons du Roy from 2002 to 2005.

She also worked as an international affairs advisor at the Quebec Ministry of International Relations for many years. As such, she was part of the founding team of Quebec–New York 2001. Her achievements as cultural attaché at the Québec Government House in New York between 1993 and 1999 received praise and awards.

She is the pianist and musical director for Norge, a co-production of Théâtre Humain and Théâtre du Trident. Her interpretations of Grieg’s Lyric Pieces also provided the soundtrack to Bernard Émond’s 2018 film Pour vivre ici.

From 2005 to 2009, Esther was a town councillor of Sainte-Pétronille, Île d’Orléans. Always involved in her community, she is currently serving on the board of the circus company Machine de cirque.

ARTISTIC WORK

Music has always been a part of Esther’s life. Her grandmother, a talented pianist, accompanied the silent films of her era. She would have, without a doubt, had a prominent artistic career had it not been for that generation’s tradition of women focusing on the home instead of a career. Nevertheless, she passed on her passion and talent to her granddaughter, Esther, and watched over her musical progress from a young age.

Young Esther practiced the piano; participated in music contests; did summer music camps; and developed lifelong friendships with flutists, singers and dancers.

In 1986, she received her bachelor’s in music in piano performance from Université Laval. Then she moved to New York City to study performing-arts management at New York University, starting a new chapter during which she stopped playing the piano.

Twenty-five years later, life brought an unexpected gift. Kevin McCoy, the artistic director of Théâtre Humain, invited Esther and her piano to join him onstage to help tell the autobiographical story of his grandmother. That was the beginning of Norge.

Since then, Norge has received wide acclaim from the press and audiences in Quebec City, Montreal, and across the province of Quebec. In April 2018, Esther packed Edvard Grieg’s Lyric Pieces in a suitcase and headed off to France with Norge.

This unforeseen, magical return to music had a significant impact on Esther’s artistic journey. Though it started with theatre, her path took an equally surprising turn toward cinema, thanks to filmmaker Bernard Émond, who had seen Norge and later contacted her to record the exquisite, evocative Nordic melodies for his film Pour Vivre Ici.

DOWNLOADABLE DOCUMENTS

CV Photos Press

FR EN
FR EN

ESTHER CHARRON

PORTRAIT

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en musique (piano, interprétation) de l’Université Laval et d’une maîtrise en gestion des arts vivants de la New York University, Esther s’investit dans son travail au rythme de sa passion pour la culture. Sensible et à l’écoute, elle aspire à les accompagner de manière concrète et utile avec des services conçus sur mesure. Curieuse, elle s’inspire et se ressource d’art, de voyages et de nature. Elle a développé au cours des années un solide réseau international. Rassembleuse, elle retire une grande satisfaction à provoquer des rencontres artistiques, intellectuelles et humaines.

Elle anime des exercices de réflexion de planification stratégique; accompagne les artistes et les compagnies dans la poursuite de leur objectif de développement de marchés; elle programme et anime ateliers professionnels, tables rondes et rencontres de toutes sortes.

Son expérience en diffusion internationale et son envie de passer le flambeau à une nouvelle génération l’ont amenée, en toute complicité avec CINARS (conférence internationale des arts de la scène), à développer un séminaire de formation sur les enjeux et stratégies de la diffusion internationale pour les arts vivants. La formation a été offerte à Québec, à Montréal, en Suisse, au Japon, et au Mexique.

Parmi ses clients institutionnels, on retrouve la Ville de Québec, le ministère de la Culture et des Communications, le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ), le Conseil des art du Canada, le Réseau international des arts du spectacle (IETM), la Place des Arts et la Conférence internationale des arts de la scène (CINARS).

Elle a occupé la direction générale des Violons du Roy de 2002 à 2005.

Elle a été conseillère pour le ministère des Relations internationales pendant plusieurs années. En tant que tel, elle a fait partie de l’équipe de départ de Québec-New-York 2001. Ses réalisations en tant qu’attachée culturelle à la Délégation générale du Québec à New York entre 1993 et 1999 lui ont mérité éloges et prix.

Pianiste, elle est interprète et directrice musicale dans NORGE, une co-production du Théâtre Humain et du Théâtre du Trident. Ses interprétations des pièces lyriques de Grieg ont aussi rythmé le dernier film de Bernard Émond, Pour vivre ici.

De 2005 à 2009, Esther Charron a été conseillère municipale à Sainte-Pétronille, Île d’Orléans. Toujours impliquée dans sa communauté, elle siège en ce moment sur le conseil d’administration de la compagnie Machine de cirque.

PROJET ARTISTIQUE

La musique a toujours fait partie de la vie d’Esther. Sa grand-mère, une pianiste talentueuse, accompagnait les films de l’époque du cinéma muet. Nul doute qu’elle aurait eu une belle carrière de pianiste, n’eut été qu’elle de l’époque qui dictait plutôt une vie domestique qu’artistique aux femmes. Cela ne l’empêcha nullement de transmettre sa passion et son talent à sa petite-fille, Esther, s’assurant que cette dernière commençait son apprentissage à un jeune âge et veillant de près sur ses progrès.

La jeune Esther jouera donc du piano. Participera à des concours de musique, passera l’été dans des camps musicaux, développera des amitiés qui dureront la vie durant avec qui joue de la flute, qui chante, qui danse.

En 1986, elle obtient un baccalauréat en musique (piano, interprétation) de l’Université Laval. Puis elle s’exile dans la grande ville de New York où elle étudiera la gestion des arts de la scène. C’est le début d’un autre chapitre important, mais où ses doigts cesseront de danser sur le clavier.

Vingt-cinq ans plus tard, la vie lui fait un cadeau inespéré. Kevin McCoy, directeur artistique du Théâtre Humain, les invite, elle et son piano, à se joindre à lui sur scène, dans le récit auto-biographique du parcours de sa propre grand-mère. C’est le début de NORGE.

Depuis, NORGE a été acclamé par les publics et la presse à Québec, à Montréal et en région. En avril 2018, Esther boucle dans sa valise ses Pièces Lyriques d’Edward Grieg, avec lesquelles elle s’embarquera pour une tournée en France.

Cet inattendu et magique retour à la musique a transformé de manière importante son parcours. Alors que c’est le théâtre qui en aura été la porte d’entrée, il bifurque de manière tout aussi surprenante du côté du cinéma. En effet, un discret mais réputé spectateur contactera Esther plusieurs mois après l’avoir entendue dans NORGE pour l’inviter à enregistrer ces mêmes mélodies nordiques, sensibles et évocatrices, pour son prochain film.

Ainsi, c’est Esther que l’on entend au piano dans Pour Vivre Ici, de Bernard Émond.

ESPACE DE TÉLÉCHARGEMENT

CV Photos Revues de presse